New RCM Series for Viola and Trumpet

November 1, 2013

New RCM series

For the first time, the Royal Conservatory of Music has released graded repertoire series for viola and trumpet! Now students of these instruments can conveniently find all the material they need for examinations up to Level 8 in one place.

RCM viola series

The series includes 9 repertoire books (levels Preparatory through 8), two books of etudes (Levels Preparatory-4, and 5-8), one book of technical requirements and an anthology of orchestral excerpts.

RCM trumpet series

The books look identical to the recently released series for cello and violin—the RCM is standardizing all the cover designs across its output. Both of the new syllabi also share the same pea-green colour as those for violin and cello, making them virtually indistinguishable in appearance (though the trumpet is more a snap pea than a snow pea!).


The former syllabi for viola and trumpet will remain in effect through 2014 so students already preparing for exams using the old curricula do not need to change course.

Students beginning a new grade in the coming months should use the curricula in the new syllabi.
The Leading Note now has these new books in stock! Pick up your copies soon.

Other RCM News: Keep an eye on this blog for news about clarinet and saxophone…

Update: Saxophone has now been released! See here for more information.

Share page... EmailFacebookTwitterLinkedInPinterestGoogle+
Back to Main Blog

Leave a Reply

« « Christmas music is here! | The Easiest Technique Book … Ever! » »